Would you look at that?!

Nomenclature:

Before I get into my post, I’d like to share that I will be changing how I refer to my loved ones because even though I think StY, StE and my beloved are fun ways to refer to my sisters and boyfriend, they’re actually a pain to type. I will now be referring to my younger sister as EB, my older sister as HK and my boyfriend as E3. This maintains any anonymity they want while making it far easier for me to type.

Ok, now that business is out of the way, how about a progress report?

Week in Review:

Food:
I struggled this past week. It has been my habit to start strong in the early part of the week, then not get enough sleep, feel run down and make bad choices. Same thing happened this past week, dang it. I went to sleep early the first two nights and stuck to plan the following days at work. Then E3 had a rough day at work and needed to talk/vent, so I stayed up a little longer one night mid-week and then it feels like my plan stayed in bed while I went to work each day. I didn’t get enough sleep Wednesday or Thursday nights, then spent the next two days justifying eating candy, a chicken tender wrap (half of it), french fries and I drank lots of wine. Oh, and there was the Starbucks grande non-fat, no-whip peppermint mocha (I only drank half of that, but it was still over 200 cal’s). And the McDonald’s sausage biscuit and hash browns (I ate all of that – those biscuits are like crack to me). I won’t lie. It all tasted great. But I was left feeling bloated and run down. Some of that was due to inadequate sleep, but most of it was due to the crap I poked into my face hole.

I can remember most of what I ate as shame burned it into my brain, but I also like to stick my head in the sand when I make bad choices because I don’t want to know the damage I’m doing, so I logged none of this food. This leads to the, “what’s the point?” attitude which means I’m not as committed to exercise, so I didn’t walk as much as I like to and I did none of the strength training I’d intended to do. I did stick with my running plan, however and for that I’m grateful. It’s a small victory, but it may have kept me from completely giving up.

All that being said, this week was far more successful than I expected. I know this because I borrowed yet another tool from EB – I keep a list of my weights with the dates next to them. I’ll be damned if I didn’t lose weight! I’ll get into how much in the successes section below, but let me just say I’m stunned and delighted by how well I did.

Exercise:
As I mentioned above, I’m happy to report that I stuck with my running program and completed week three of my Couch to 5K training (again – can’t wait to actually complete this program). Well, I’ve also been meaning to start a strength-training program, but hadn’t been able to talk myself into it until last night. I was behind on steps, it was getting late and I wanted to do some strength-training. (I have a trip coming up in two weeks and I’d like to get started on my toning so that perhaps my arms don’t look quite so floppy.) I decided to dust off Jillian Michaels’ Ripped in 30 DVD because I know it works every muscle group while torching calories and takes a whopping 24 minutes, which works with my schedule. There is a bit of jumping around in this and it makes me pant, drip sweat and wheeze at times, but when I’m done, I’m glad I did it. I’m mildly disappointed that I’m not more sore today, but I know I gave it all I had.

Tonight is a running night. Good thing because I wore cute new shoes to work and ignored the little voice in my head this morning that said, “Put on some band-aids, just in case.” I now have two band-aids on each Achilles area because the skin is raw and have not been walking around much because, as you may have guessed, it’s a mite uncomfortable. This means I’m low on steps and will need to get in a bunch this evening. Thankfully, my running shoes are gentle on my heels, so a couple of sport band-aids, a pair of socks and I’ll be good to go.

Now let’s wrap things up, shall we? (I originally typed that as “warp things up,” which some would say is a Freudian slip stemming from a twisted personality.)

Goals:

  • Get enough sleep Monday through Thursday night this week.
  • Log EVERYTHING that goes into my mouth.
  • Stick to the entire plan Monday through Friday.

Successes:

  • I did get to bed early on Monday and Tuesday nights, which made for better days on Tuesday and Wednesday.
  • I stuck to my running plan.
  • When I ate “off plan” I did well with portion control most of the time.
  • I lost 4.6 lbs/2.06 kg!
  • Made menus and cooked ahead to make sticking to the plan easy peasy.

Needs Improvement:

  • Obsessive weighing. I didn’t realize how well I was doing because I weighed multiple times this past week. Many times I didn’t like the number I saw (water retention) and so didn’t enter it anywhere and thus didn’t know how I was really doing. I know (and hear it repeatedly from various sources) that it can be disheartening to weigh daily because there are so many factors that can affect your weight from day to day: sleep, water intake, salt intake, stress…but did I heed that? Nope. Weighed almost daily. I’m here to tell you, that shit’s a mistake. If you feel compelled to do so, though, I’m not going to be the one to stop you because I know you have to experience it to believe it.

Overall, I’m satisfied with my results from this past week. I’m also excited to see how I do this week with my new plan! I know there is usually a big loss at the beginning – as if my body is just so damn glad that I’m treating it better – but I’m wondering how well things will go when I actually stick to the plan EVERY DAY.

Run on y’all!

Leave a Reply

