Operation 130 – Week 4 – Back from Vacation

Hi there, Friends! I went on vacation to NYC for the first time ever from the 13th to the 17th and it was wonderful! It wore me out – we walked a total of 32.06 miles in four days and I barely had energy to shower each night before passing out – but it was wonderful. I don’t really feel like going into the details of the trip. It was fun, but I don’t have the drive to make a post out of it. I really just want to get back into the swing of things here with my fitness and weight loss.

As you know from my previous post, I had been recovering from a recurrence of calf pain. The DIY myofascial release really helped, nearly immediately, but I kept doing “active recovery” by abstaining from running, yet walking plenty. It worked out well. On Thursday, June 19th, I gave my C25K, Week 4/Day 3 training another go and had great success! The next day I did nothing – I was still tired and ran errands after work, so by the time I got home, I was really pooped. Saturday I did a walk/run and then some weight training. I went 4.27 miles on my walk/run and at the beginning, after a 5 minute warm-up walk, would run a minute, then walk a minute. I wanted to work on my stamina, but not push myself too hard and cause more pain. I don’t recall how frequently I did this, but I didn’t do it throughout the walk and I didn’t suffer any pain.

Sunday I did Week 5/Day 1, but I didn’t do it until about 11:30 a.m. and it was warm and humid out. YUCK. The running stretches keep increasing, too. I ran 5 minutes, with a three minute walk, then a 6 minute run, three minute walk and ended on a 5 minute run. It was hard. The hills don’t help. Tomorrow’s training starts with the same 5R/3W cycle again, but then there’s an EIGHT minute run followed by a 5 minute walk, then another 5 min. run. Ok, 8 minutes doesn’t sound like much, but it’s the longest I’ll have run in AGES and I’m a little nervous.

Enter My New Plan.

Even though the campus rec center is closed during the summer, the locker rooms are still open and the buildings open to around 7:00 a.m. I will rise early (4:00-4:15), throw on running clothes, grab a pre-packed bag of toiletries and work clothes and hop in the car to drive to work. I should get to work around 6:00 (assuming a departure time of 4:30), where it will be light, still relatively cool and absolutely less hilly. I’ll do my run around campus, then fetch my stuff from the car and hit the showers. I like this plan because it sets me up for success for the day. I’m not worrying all day about whether I’ll have the energy to run when I get home either.I’m feeling very good about this plan!

Speaking of feeling good let’s get to my Goals, etc…

Goals:

  • Continue with my C25K Training
  • Continue with my newly implemented weight training
  • Get more sleep (an ongoing issue)

Successes:

  • I only gained about 2 lbs in NYC
  • I’ve lost those two plus almost two more
  • I feel like I’ve found my groove on this journey toward a healthier, fitter me

Needs Improvement:

  • Sleep
  • Sleep
  • Sleep

Weight loss: 1.8 lbs.
Total loss: 7.4
Current weight: 183.4

Run on, y’all!

 

Leave a Reply

